See All Reviews
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Phone Around, Period! I got the LG 505C for my wife to replace her Samsung R375 which was terrible. The LG is far and away THE BEST CELLPHONE I have ever seen in its design and user friendliness. At first I was surprised at the compactness of the phone and wondered how difficult typing would be, but its keyboard is the best slide out QWERTY of any phone, somehow having larger keys, and with the combination of the touch screen offers a versatility that is unmatched anywhere. I also liked that the opening screen informs you of all your message status (voicemail and text), and that the alternate screens take you directly to your text messages and contacts. Whoever designed this phone knew what the user needed! All this, plus Verizon coverage, too! I took a lot of grief from my wife with the Samsung, but now she's happy, and that says a lot, trust me! I use a Samsung Proclaim, a supposed smartphone, but the LG, which is not a smartphone, makes my phone look like a dumbphone. If you don't need a smartphone, the LG 505C is definitely the smart choice!!! 07/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Battery Life We really like the phone. it has a great battery life, easy way to text. It is not a phone designed to browse, it is better equipped for calls, text messaging and taking pictures, great value. in my area, it is using the verizon network and call quality is awesome compared to sprint and att. 06/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but Small!! This phone is ok, seems to be pretty good quality so far but dont fool yourself by thinking it's as big as a smart phone. The pic is misleading because its a full screen/touch screen phone. It's actually smaller than my blackberry and I compared it to an old flip phone I had and it was the same size as that too. But I will be keeping it as I'm not a phone junky and pretty easy to please. Overall, I like that I can have phone service for half the price as my old verizon contract service. 07/07/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by there are some up's and down's The up's are that the phone have a nice view on the screen, and easy to text message with the slider keys , and touch screen is pretty good. THe downside to this expensive phone is The browser is kinda slow, and the view with that is small .. so theres not alot you can do regarding the browser ... you can do a status update on your fb but it may take a little while .. and it takes some time to get a good picture to come in on the browser or never .. takes too long to get focus .. all and all if you want a phone that makes calls and tex it is good as the other just cost more . also, the battery life is short . if you like to piece together a puzzle when you not on the phone,, well if you get this phone using the browser is like putting together a puzzle with all the wrong pieces so all text and call fine ,, otherwise nothing else to it ... camera isn't that great either... if you are a camera lover and getting great photos with ease this phone is not good for that either. 06/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Phone I Ever Owned I absolutely love this device. It's got it all, QUERTY and touchscreen with fast access buttons below the touchscreen; *great* for bypassing menus on the screen, effectively giving you shortcuts to actions. The screen gives you the maximum real estate, while the overall size of the device is compact but not too small for a large hand. I was worried about the keyboard keys being too small for large fingers, but I've had no trouble texting, at all. I was a bit shocked at how fast I adapted to the touchscreen; within minutes, I was sailing thru the menus like I had been doing it for years. It's obvious that this device is the result of some ergonomic evolution. This was a replacement for a T-mobile phone; and boy, it blows the t-mobile stuff out of the water. Before I had trouble with coverage, now with this LG 505C and Straighttalk coverage, I've had just about no problems at all. Previously at home I had spotty reception with T-mobile; with the LG 505C, that's history. Better coverage than I've ever experienced before. All in all, just about the best buying decision I've made so far this year. 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this phone for the price and thought of all the features as bonuses. IM IN LOVE WITH IT! Favorite phone ive ever owned 07/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Purchase of LG 800g and LG 505c Purchased two LG 800g's [hubby & son] - after trying for a week, I'll update. I got LG 505c to have a different carrier - that way we should have service [hopefully] when traveling. We had Verizon Wireless before and paying just for talk - our bill was as much as we are paying now for talk, text, and some data. Porting of our numbers was very easy [did on our computer] and very fast - couldn't believe how fast and we did this in the evening hours - in a matter of 15 minutes each. So far, we are liking the phones but new technology gets complicated - we haven't had texting or data plus touchscreens - wow, what a way to confuse older folks!" LG 800g runs off of AT&T towers LG 505c runs off of Verizon towers Service would depend on the towers in your area - so check it out. If you're a traveler, you might want to check out "service" in the area where you travel, too! 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great touch/slider combo the phone is great so far.the camera takes good pictures even though i don't use it as much.the slide out keyboard is easy to use and can get used to it quick.the screen is a bit sensitive but it's not an issue.browser seems to do great with the time i used it.the battery does run out a little quick but also not an issue.the price surprised me as phones with the same features can cost alot more.overall it is the best straight talk phone i have owned so far. 07/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Straight Talk can't be beat for value. This is my families third account with Straight Talk and we have been satisfied with the coverage area, phones and value. Straight Talk continues to lead the way for reliable and value in my opinion. This LG 505C is a great touch screen phone. My daughter love the phone size and it has lots of options and is perfect for texting and for social networks. I would recommend Straight Talk to anyone looking to save money on other expensive phone services and I would recommend this phone for the in crowd looking for a cool phone. 07/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Phone down sized from my LG Optimus Q smart phone, great for phone calls, and messaging, 4 0r 5 day battery life, can't beat $30 month plan, over all good basic phone 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had my phone for almost a month and haven't had any problems or issues so I'm happy so far. I do not use the internet much but have been on a few times and it seems to connect without a problem. 08/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Phone works great. Love the slide out keyboard. I really like Straight Talk's service. Their CS is pretty good when you can understand what they are saying. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone, Love the touch pad and slide out qwerty keyboard. 07/06/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great a phone alot of technical issues I have had this phone about a month and I hate it. It has internet connection issues, the calendar will tell me I have event(s) when I don't! The calibration on the touch screen is way off and I have tried several times to fix it and could not. When trying to touch something the wrong thing will come up, or you will have to touch the icon over and over for it to work. The only thing I like about this phone is the slide out keyboard. I had the samsung touch screen straight talk phone, before and I wish I would have kept it. This phone might be good for someone new to phones, but otherwise I think you will be disapointed. 08/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a very good cell phone. This was purchased for me as a replacement phone for my anniversary. This Cell phone is a great phone for people who do not wish to have smart phone capabilities. You are able to purchase either a $30 or $45 phone card so you are able to control how much you spend. This phone is easy to use. I have had a week and have had no issues with dropped calls. The camera takes decent pictures. The call quality has been good. This should be a good upgrade to a touch screen phone. It has both a touch screen and a querty slide out for easy texting. I notice the price was reduced by $20 since my husband purchased it. 10/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good basic phone I purchased my LG 505c a few days ago, so far, so good. I believe it runs off Verizon towers so call quality is not too bad. Battery life is above average. I have not been able to connect to the web yet. Message says unavailable when I click the browser icon. This is not a smartphone but good for calls and texting. 09/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Phone - Poor Straight Talk Customer Service I have only had the LG 505 phone activated for one day but so far am pleased with the phone. But getting it activated and dealing with CS @ Straight Talk is another story! It was so difficult I'm making a point to do this review to let you know what you are in for when you get a S T phone. I tried to activate it online but it wouldn't update an error correction, so I had to call the CS no. and even though I pressed "1" for English, I got someone who spoke another language. After repeating something several times I think I was told, "Ma'am, it is absolutely necessary that you understand me for me to complete this transaction". OK, so I had to keep entering long strings of numbers several times and every problem imaginable cropped up - and after finishing, the phone didn't work. I had to call back and was offered the call back option instead of holding the estimated 20 minutes, so I waited for them to call me back. When I was called back, it was an automated call with a recording that said all csrs were busy and would be with me as soon as one was available. I held on waiting for several more minutes. This is not the end of the nightmare but it's the end of room to write. Many ppl I know could never have made it through the activation process it was so complicated and frustrating. If I have to deal with CS very much I will have to go back to Verizon. Never knew I had it so good there. 10/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very basic phone It is a little too basic for my needs now. It is very easy to use and perfect for someone who just wants a basic phone. I find most LG phones are pretty good, and this one is too.... for a beginner touch screen user. The slider keyboard is very easy to use, not too small...a very nice, simple touch screen phone. I returned it for a later model touch screen phone, one I am hoping is a little more up to my speed. 09/01/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by After hours talking to Straighttalk customer service, it appears my phone is defective. I have to send it back and then they will send another. What a pain!! I like the phone but some things were annoying. I would set speaker on, but it wouldn't stay on, kept going off. Also, I would unlock it, but the lock button kept coming on. If I have the same problems with a new phone, I'm returning it. 08/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the price of this phone is it very basic. NOT smart phone quality. For talk and text is is a great phone, for internet, it is annoying, I gave up on the net. I'm going to buy a better smart phone. 10/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great !!! 08/20/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not at all what I wanted I've had this phone for 2 days. This is not the phone that i wanted but when I went to Walmart to get the one i did want they didn't have it so i got this one. The screen is very small. when you go on the internet it distorts the screen a lot-especially with email. It takes forever to get a picture to load. It has great service though for making calls and sending texts. The shutter speed on the camera is quick but it's not great quality. You can't listen to music and do anything else on the phone at the same time. you have to stay on the music player screen to keep listening. I can't get it to stop saying "New message from..." when i get a new text or a phone call. Even if the phone is on silent, it still rings when someone calls me (that has already gotten me in trouble at work) the touch screen is VERY touchy! you can't scroll down just a little bit it's either stay where you are on the screen or go all the way to the bottom. All the pictures from my memory card can't be viewed on this phone so I had no way to view them except on Facebook. It's going back today and I am going to try out the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. 10/05/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Phone shut off when browsing and after every call Just bought this phone. Charged it up completely. When I get on facebook, after I type my password and log in, it shuts off. Same thing after I make a call, it shuts off. For no reason. Straight talk said i have to take it back to Wal-mart to exchange. Just annoying thats all. Liked the phone though. 08/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Phone Love the phone battery keeps charged...DISLIKE When someone calls u hear parts of what they say sometimes it's in and out and sounds like a robot . 06/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by can I get my money back it locks, it's impossible to find and address when I call people, they can't understand me 08/21/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Phone was defective and had to be returned. Took a total of 3 hours with straightalk to get it all straightened out 08/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great camera for taking photos with 06/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was a gift for my neice and I returned the phone because the number for texting she said was going to be to small. 10/26/2012
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw270
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp